Fourth Coast Entertainment -

By Grandstand


Tragically Hip's Gord Downie's new album - Introduce Yerself


Last updated 11/1/2017 at 6:28am

"The place of honor that Mr. Downie occupies in Canada's national imagination has no parallel in the United States. Imagine Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan and Michael Stipe combined into one sensitive, oblique poet-philosopher, and you're getting close." - The New York Times, October 18, 2017

In the lead-up to the release of The Tragically Hip's Gord Downie's new album, Introduce Yerself, tomorrow, arts & Crafts has shared a video documenting the creation of the album's closing song, "The North." Directed by Jennifer Baichwal and Nicolas de Pencier, the clip is an intimate look at the creation of Downie's staggeringly beautiful work coming together in the studio with producer Kevin Drew, Dave Hamelin and engineer Nyles Spencer at The Bathouse studio in Bath, Ontario.

Co-written and produced by Broken Social Scene's Kevin Drew, the album's twenty-three songs were recorded swiftly over two four-day sessions in January 2016 and February 2017, with the finished album often reflecting first takes.

"A lot of these I wrote the words in advance," Downie said at the time of recording. "Like poems. I'd get one or two a day and then I'd have to stop. Because that's about all... the soul or whatever, would give up. And then, so with music, it becomes pretty easy."

The New York Times published a feature article on the making of the record on October 18, the day after Downie's death following a two-year battle with brain cancer.

Introduce Yerself will be released on CD and digital formats tomorrow, October 27. The vinyl will be in stores December 15 in a double gatefold jacket with two pull-out posters.

Gord Downie - Introduce Yerself Tracklist

1. First Person

2. Wolf's Home

3. Bedtime

4. Introduce Yerself

5. Coco Chanel No. 5

6. Ricky Please

7. Safe Is Dead

8. Spoon

9. A Natural

10. Faith Faith

11. My First Girlfriend

12. Yer Ashore

13. Love Over Money

Tragically Hip's Gord Downie's 23-SONG DOUBLE ALBUM, INTRODUCE YERSELF,

14. You Me And The B's

15. Snowflake

16. A Better End

17. Nancy

18. Thinking About Us

19. The Road

20. You Are The Bird

21. The Lake

22. Far Away And Blurred

23. The North


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018